cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the best way to get this off my credit report with all 3 CRA's?

tag
DoroLucky
Valued Contributor

What is the best way to get this off my credit report with all 3 CRA's?

I'm new to rebuilding and understanding how credit works, so I'm ignorant to a lot forgive me. I won't say I was irresponsible with credit, I just didn't understand back then. I went from having over a 700 credit score back in 2008, to below 600 now. I am in the process of rebuilding but I have baddies with all 3 CRA's (collecions and late payments). I have a friend helping me....we wrote DV letters to all three bereau's but haven't heard back yet. I just want to clean my credit because I want a house by February 2016. Yes we wrote the letters but I still want ALL of the baddies removed, they're affecting my credit score badly.

Good news is, I have managed to bring my credit utilization down to 39% from over 70% or higher because I recently got approved for a CAP1 QS card with a $3K CL and I got a $200 CI from my Merrick Bank CC. My overall CL is $4450 with a combined balance of  $1546 plus a $520 balance on a closed Discover acct. By February, my utiliztion will be less than 5% (I plan on paying them all off) but I am not sure how much it will help because of the open collection accts and the late payments reported on some closed accounts that are settled and/or paid in full or transfered. I recenly got a car with a 12.99 APR (high but I was stuck between a rock and a hard place, slaes person told me to re-finance after making 3 payments ont ime). Not sure how that would work with me trying to rebuild and raise my score.