Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What qualifies as a dispute?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What qualifies as a dispute?

I have a charge off that was a repo from gm financial on my report. They sold the vehicle for $6,500 and say i still owe $5900. I noticed looking on my transunion report that in the details it says repo August 2013 payment was 90 days behind in writing,however when i look at the payment key calender it shows June 2013 60 days late,july 2013 30 days late then august 2013 30 days late. Is that something i can dispute for inaccuracy and possibly get it removed? Sorry if its a dumb question im new at all this.

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

Re: What qualifies as a dispute?

@Anonymous wrote:

I have a charge off that was a repo from gm financial on my report. They sold the vehicle for $6,500 and say i still owe $5900. I noticed looking on my transunion report that in the details it says repo August 2013 payment was 90 days behind in writing,however when i look at the payment key calender it shows June 2013 60 days late,july 2013 30 days late then august 2013 30 days late. Is that something i can dispute for inaccuracy and possibly get it removed? Sorry if its a dumb question im new at all this.

You could dispute the discrepancies but if its not updating monthly I would just leave it alone as when it updates it looks like a new CO in Ficos eyes and would cause a drop in score. Might want to be careful as well poking the bear if this is still within your states SOL.

Message 2 of 3
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: What qualifies as a dispute?

Credit reporting does not require that the creditor report each and every delinquency, and that delinquencies cannot be reported as being of a lower level when they are in fact more delinquent.