Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What to do next?

tag
dmc917
New Contributor

What to do next?

Apologies in advance for the lengthy post.  I have been rebuilding for just over two years (husband out of work 2008-2011, everything in my name, foreclosure, repo, charge-offs, etc.).  In August 2014, I engaged the services of Lexington Law (I know, I know).  At that time, I had 63 negative items (combined) (or 20 accounts) reporting across all three bureaus -- I currently have 31 items (or 11 accounts).  At this stage in my life, I have a little more money than time, so I am happy with LL's services to date, but plan to cut them loose this month.  

After lurking all over myFico at great length over the past several weeks, I have decided that I need to speed up the process a bit by becoming more pro-active and actually dealing with my old debts (rather than waiting for LL to have them investigated and, hopefully, removed).  So, I created a spreadsheet listing all of my negative/collection accounts, complete with CA names/phone numbers, account numbers, amounts owed, dates of first late, dates of last reporting and on which bureau report they appear.  I then sorted the accounts by reverse chronological date order so that the newest accounts are at the top and the oldest ones closer to falling off are at the bottom.  I did this so that I can start addressing each account individually and in some sort of logical fashion. (I get overwhelmed easily, so this was a MUST first step.)  What I think I learned from this forum (and other credit boards) is that newer accounts = more damage than older accounts. So, the plan is to tackle the stuff on top and work my way down.