Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When does account age become an asset?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

When does account age become an asset?

As a new credit builder, i hear a lot about average account age and how significant it is in calculating FICO scores.   

At what point is account age an asset?  For instance, if you only have 1 credit line which is a month old, is that a negative?  Does it take six months of on-time payments to become a positive?  A year?  Five years?    

How do the different timespans impact score (assuming all cards are paid off every month on time)?

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: When does account age become an asset?

Fair Isaac is far too secretive to ever divulge such details of their scoring. What we DO know is that AAoA is a small potion of scoring, 15% I think, and accounts are considered 'mature' when they pass the two year mark.

Strive for a long AAoA, but don't worry about it too much. Basically don't close accounts unless they cost you money in Annual Fees. The more accounts you open early on, and the longer you keep them open, the better your AAoA 'anchor' becomes.

Message 2 of 11
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

A wrinkle in using AAoA as a scoring criterion is that many consumers arbitrarily loose their oldest accounts, thus skewing their AAoA.

The CRAs all have an arbitrary and subjective internal policy of deletion of old accounts once they have been closed for approx ten years.

They do that for housekeeping reasons, thus recouping database space.

They assume that old, closed accounts are of no more interest to their customers (creditors), totally ignoring the clear impact on consumer credti scores.

Message 3 of 11
masscredit
Valued Contributor

So you could lose points from a declining AAoA when old accounts are deleted? I have some accounts that are approaching 10 years. They were either closed because they weren't being used or were IIB.