cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why can't I get increased credit limit with Chase?

tag
Geppy

Why can't I get increased credit limit with Chase?

Hi everyone!  I'm a bit perplexed here. My credit reports from all three bureaus fall between 716-725.  I discovered this in September of this year when I decided to start being more aware of my credit.  

My initial reaction to this was complete surprise.  I went through bankruptcy in 2006, I have an unpaid collection I've been carrying since 2007, and a public record (small claims court judgement) from 2009.  How the heck is my credit in the 700s at all? It's hard to believe.

Furthermore, in September, armed with this new knowledge that my credit score is much higher than I expected, I called and applied for a credit increase on my Chase card that has a limit of $1,700.  I was rejected... **bleep**?!?!?

If my credit score is truly in the 700s, why was I rejected for a limit increase? I've paid my bills ontime for years. Now I'm left truly wondering if my reports are accurately depicting my real credit score. I'd love to apply (and receive) a card that would provide me the ability to earn miles, points, cash back, etc. but now I'm worried about pinging my credit and getting rejected.

Any help/insight is much appreciated.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
percy81
Frequent Contributor

Re: Why can't I get increased credit limit with Chase?

First, chase is very conservative with cl increases. Did they offer to pull your report? Or was it just a flat out NO!? Basically, they don't care whether you have a perfect 850...they are HP happy Smiley Very Happy

I have chase and I HAVE NEVER BEEN LATE and I use the card very well with not too shabby fico scores and I called for an increase and got the "We will need further information which will result in a HP, do you wish to continue?" I hang upSmiley Frustrated

Current: TU 772 EQ 765 EX 760 (GE credit pull)
Goal 800+