Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why is everyone on this forum so against credit repair firms like lexington law

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Why is everyone on this forum so against credit repair firms like lexington law

So I am new here and I have been lurking around here a lot.

My story :

I am an international student in US and recently got ssn. And after checking my experian report ( others 2 are not available) on annualcreditcheck, to my surprise, there are unpaid medical bills. I did have energency medical tests done around 1 year back and I always thought I had paid the bills. Apparently not. And since my address and phone no was changed I never knew about this.

Current situation:

NOW since I am out of school and trying to get credit cards, car lease etc I cannot, despite a good job since my credit history is blank and the only 4 things on there are unpaid medical bills in collection.

With this in mind I really want to get these things off my report and I can pay all the debt if needed. And I am considering hiring lexington law since all the process seems complicated ( or maybe it just looks complicated and isnt , correct me). I think the firm could help me remove some or all of them because 1) one bill is repeated 2) my address when the bills were reported is written wrong 3) I did not even have SSN back then!

Is there any specific reason why people here dont like credit repair firms? Are they shady? I do know about some stuff like HIPAA but not too in depth and I dont know the step by step process.

Please bear with me if I am being a noob.
Message 1 of 21
20 REPLIES 20
oldcreditwoes
Contributor

Re: Why is everyone on this forum so against credit repair firms like lexington law

I have never used these types of services, so I dont have any firsthand expereince with their process.