Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will Score Rebound?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Will Score Rebound?

I have been building my credit back up for the past 18 months, and was extremely pleased with myself that my credit scores were all in the 700's where two years ago they were under 600.  I've kept my credit card utilization under 5%, and everything was great.    

I was preparing to put my house on the market, and charged about $5000 in finishing touches to make my house have greater curb appeal and demand top dollar.  It was money well spent as I'm in escrow with a purchase price OVER asking.

However, my credit score -- dropped almost 100 points when the utilization spiked to about 55%  -- I've carried that for 60 days and will be paying it off as we close escrow.

Question -- Can I expect my credit to rebound back to where it was before I charged the $5000?  It brought tears to my eyes to see those hard earned 700 scores drop into the low 600's.

bdd

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
redbeard
Frequent Contributor

Re: Will Score Rebound?

If I understand correctly, you'll get the points back for utilization without a problem.  It sounds like a larger point drop then should have occured, but utilization does play a big role.  

If you maxed out (or almost maxed out) a card or 2, the point drop makes more sense.

Once the house closes, you will also lose your active mortgage account.  It will report closed.  This will likely cost you a few points, so figure you'll get the utilization points back completely, but you'll still end up 10 points lower because you don't have an active mortgage account any longer.

Of course, this all depends on what else is in the credit file.

Dan

Just trying to get my scores to rise from the dead......

Wait.... I think I just heard a heartbeat!

Message 2 of 6
-NewGuy-
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote: