Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will it hurt me to close a ssecured card already? Just opened November

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Will it hurt me to close a ssecured card already? Just opened November

Hello wise ones!  Boy have I started learning alot hereeeee - wish I had started here!

Anyway, we are just starting to rebuild.  Like so many on here, had some really bad bad years.

So in a nutshell in November got a car loan but couldn't on my own so my mother in law cosigned.  Realized we needed to come back into mainstream and get on top of this credit mess.  Since I was sure I could not get any unsecured lines opened ....in Nov I opened a secured with First Progress and then got a Credit One (not a ton of fees).  First Prog is heavily marketed on CK and that is where I was mostly trying to pull my thoughts together then.  Wish I had started here as there are clearly better options for secured but, call it a learning curve.

Anyway somehow I have managed to build my profile much higher since November.  I have added the following:

WFDS car loan $27k

First Prog Secured 300

Credit One 300

Fingerhut 600

Walmart Store 300

Capital One Plat 300

Capital One QS 300

Kay Jewelers 6000

PayPal 400

QVC 400

I also was added to a CapOne as an AU 2000 with a long long history

And, just went AU on 2 new lines for my mother in law's new CITI @4500 and CapOne @ 5000

This give me my own credit available $ 8900 plus with her AU accounts I will show $20,400

I am showing an AAoA of just over 8 years now.

So, considering that First Progress will never go ANYWHERE.....I HATE HATE HATE their inability to pay online.....

I also have access to USAA and would prefer a secured there as I have seen how they will look at you for new unsecured after showing them a period of personal history.  At least that gives me room to grow while having my $300 tied up.  Plus with that membership I can always transfer my deposit into another account later too.