cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will paying off revolving debt with a personal loan help out my credit score?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Will paying off revolving debt with a personal loan help out my credit score?

I am a newbie here to this forum, so I hope someone can help me out. I currently have about $4600 in revolving CC debt. I am recently engaged, and want to get my credit score up within the next 8 to 9 months.  Currently my mid score is about 645. But my question is, if I get a personal loan to pay off the revloving, will this bring my score up faster? I had a BK that was filed in 07/01, so I don't think that is affecting it too much anymore. I also had a recent collcection for $93 about a year ago, but was paid off about 9 months ago. Any suggestions on how or where to begin?

Thanking you in advance!
Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Will paying off revolving debt with a personal loan help out my credit score?

I dont think so, because in essence what is being done is you are closing one line of credit only to open another in it's place.  So it would be my quess that it would more than likely cause your scores to drop.
Message 2 of 14
southernficoaddict
Frequent Contributor

Re: Will paying off revolving debt with a personal loan help out my credit score?

What other debt do you have reporting on your CR?  Do you have any installment loans already?  From what I understand FICO likes to see a good mix of types of credit, so an installment loan may help you increase your score if you don't already have any.  PLEASE somebody correct me if I am wrong.  I am much better at asking questions than answering them.
Message 3 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

I do have one installment loan with a balance of about $2700. I was not sure if it would help or not. You know I always hear not to have too much debt on my revolving credit lines.

Message 4 of 14
southernficoaddict
Frequent Contributor