Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Would love some advice to help rebuild credit

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Would love some advice to help rebuild credit

Hello all! I've been working on rebuilding my credit profile for several months, and would love some advice on what my next steps should be. Here are the details:

I started out with a FICO score of a dismal 439 in March 2015, now my FICOs are TU 617, EQ 625, EX 608. I was approved for secured CO w/ $200, sent in addt'l $350, CL now $750. In October 2015, I was approved for CO QS1 and Platinum for $500 each (platinum is now $1500 CL). November 2015 I got an Overstock store card w/ $250 CL via SCT. Utilization is as follows: QS1 19%, platinum 29%, secured 9%, Overstock 0%.

I have four student loans totaling $11818 that rehabbed in July 2015, always pay more than the $150 pymnt. Depending on the credit bureau, I have 1-3 collections, two of which I need to dispute as they are outdated. The valid collection is a medical bill from 2014 for $500 (have not yet paid). Also 3-5 inquiries. Have an Ohio tax lien from 2014 (currently paying off, $1200/$2100 paid), and have had 3-4 older, smaller collections drop off due to age.  

I'm very new to this, and not sure what to do next. Do I need to app for another small limit credit card? Any advice would be very much appreciated!  :-)

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Would love some advice to help rebuild credit

Getting less than half your cards reporting a balance will give you a boost. Ask for a CLI from Overstock. They will quite often give you one every 31 days. My DH got an overstock card in November for 250 with an immediate cli of 200. He has also gotten one in January and February for a total increase of 600. If the collections are outdated (past 7 years of DoFD, not just past SOL) then call the credit bureaus and ask for an EE not a dispute.
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable