cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

apply for new cc?

tag
bluemoon1948

apply for new cc?

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie here and as such not sure i'm posting in the correct section so please let me know if I should go elsewhere. I am 65 and had a short sale on my hourse 2 years ago. In order to get my unhelpful ( gross understatement) to agree to the short sale I had to be behind 3 months in payments. I was already behind on my cc. Eventually the short sale went through and the cc card company offered me a low interest pay off plan which I accepted I had to agree to close both cards. I am 2 years into a 5 year plan.

My question is now that I am able to keep current on everything and in one year if I desire I will be able to qualify for a mortgage if all other things are in order and I want to. I'm not sure I would but I want to be ready. I want my FICO score to be such that I am prepared for whatever. So right now my score is about 670 up from 605 2 years ago. should I apply for a credit card?  will having one increase my score because I will have incresed debt/credit? I currently owe 8500 on 2 cc and 7000 on a car loan. I make $2000 on social security and $800 from a part time job.

so advice on whether to apply for cc or not? 

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
myjourney
Super Contributor

Re: apply for new cc?

Welcome to the forum 

We'll need a little more info

What's on your CR's as far as negatives and positives?

The 670 score looks good is it a Fico score and do you know the other 2 CB's scores?

How many INQ's in the last year?

How do the closed CC's show on CR's?

Before you app think...
Have you done your research of the CC?
Does it fit your spending?
Do you have a plan for the bonus w/o going into debt?
Can you afford the AF?
Do you know the cards benefits? Is it worth the HP?
Message 2 of 12
bluemoon1948