Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

being sued by citibank? Options?

tag
YoungandFoolish
Established Member

being sued by citibank? Options?

Long short, I got a citi card on my first day of college in 2004.Yada Yada I fell behind and stopped paying. Being the irresponsible 19 year old I was I figured it would go away. I have been supporting myself very unsuccessfully for the past six years and I am currently in the process of moving back in with my parents because of my debt and wanting to finish college.

Today I got a letter from a lawyer who got my name in court docs saying I was being sued and offering to take my case. I haven't received anything about this but low and behold when I looked it up on the county website there was my name with a pretrial for 7/30. The amount owed I believe is ~$3400

The CA is Zakheim and Associates. I haven't gotten anything in the mail from them in a long time and I know they have called a few times but never left a message. Should I try to call them and set up a payment arrangement or should I wait until the court date that I haven't gotten anything about. I don't know what to do. I don't have a lot of money but living at home will help.

Any advice would be helpful. 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: being sued by citibank? Options?

Kinda confusing, but here is what I can piece together.

You opened an acouunt with CITI back in 2004.  You stopped paying at some unspecied time.  (date of your first delinquency with them is very, very important in any subsequent legal or credit reporting issues.... do you know your DOFD on the OC account with CITI?)

So your know your state SOL?

Is this "lawyer" you got a call from wishing to represent you, or is he representing the plaintiff creditor/CA? 

Why no service of collection (dunning) notice by the CA?