cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

can a secured card only improve your score till a certain point?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

can a secured card only improve your score till a certain point?

I am in the process of rebuilding my credit.  I have been using a secured card responsibly for the last 4 months and I noticed that my score jumped 28 points since I last checked.  I wanted to know if a secured card can only get you to a certain threshhold and then you cannot increase your score anymore or if I keep using it responsibly will the score keep going up in light of the other negatives?

Thanks

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
mrmagic9799
Regular Contributor

Re: can a secured card only improve your score till a certain point?

It can to an extent, but you'll want to have a "good mix" of credit from revolving (credit cards), installments ( car, certain loans), & mortage.  My best advice is whatever baddies you have try and get them removed if possible.  Lates-send GW letters, CO- Offer PFD.  

Be sure to troll these boards there are TONS of good information!!!

Best of Luck

Message 2 of 6
Guava
Established Contributor

@mrmagic9799 wrote:

It can to an extent, but you'll want to have a "good mix" of credit from revolving (credit cards), installments ( car, certain loans), & mortage.  My best advice is whatever baddies you have try and get them removed if possible.  Lates-send GW letters, CO- Offer PFD.  

Be sure to troll these boards there are TONS of good information!!!

Best of Luck

+1 there! 35% of FICO scores is payment history, but establishing payment history takes time. Secure card works the same way as any other credit card for FICO scoring purposes. IMO it's when your file is manually reviewed and the card reports as secure card then it looks unfavorable.

Starting Score (08/11/11): TU08: 643
Current Score: TU08: 741
Goal Score: Stay in the 700s; keep reports clean

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 3 of 6
Crashem