cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

emergency situation please please help!!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

emergency situation please please help!!!

My score has been slowly rising and I've been working SO HARD for three years then today I got a letter from a collection agency....

I returned a movie to blockbuster on December 19th (just dropped it in the bin).  It was over 10 days late, so they charged me the full amount of the movie.

They sent me NO BILL, I just thought I probably had a late fine on my account that I would pay at my next visit.  I had absolutely no idea this existed until today when I got the collections notice. 

I went up there and the guy said they don't send bills anymore, they make phone calls. And  they had an old phone number, so they had no way to reach me.  He then said that the collections agency was "only for people with an amount due" and that it "won't affect your credit score in any way".  I asked for that in writing.  He refused to write it down saying he didn't have the legal authority to do so.  He gave me the name and phone number of his supervisor.  I left a message. 

I am selling my house and if I have a credit hit I'll never qualify for a new house... my credit score will tank and my son and I will end up homeless... somebody please help me.  I spend so many years being irresponsible and now I HONESTLY didn't know about this debt... I can't believe this is happening to me.  I didn't pay it since he wouldn't offer anything in writing... what should I do?  I want to pay it, I know I owe it... but I'm afraid if I pay it my credit report will be permanently damaged.

I am hyperventilating so please throw me a bone.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: emergency situation please please help!!!

Ok now that I have stopped crying for a minute, what about this...