Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

need advice on rebuilding credit for mortgage application in 2016

tag
rubensmadder

need advice on rebuilding credit for mortgage application in 2016

Hi,

I am hoping someone can give me insight or advice. I am planning on buying a house in 2016, however, I have a low FICO score, 600 average for all 3 credit bureaus. My credit score is low due to bad financial decisions made while I was a medical student. I carried a number of credit cards that became maxed out and I was unable to pay, and these went into collections. I have about 15K of credit card debt that went into collections.  I am a new physician (1.5 years out of residency), and have been paying all my bills on time. I have automated deductions on 95% of my payment accounts (auto, utilities, student loans). I currently only have 1 credit card that gets paid off on a monthly basis. And with the plan of buying a home in the next year, I will have at least 100K to put down for a projected home with a purchase price of 450-500K. I understand that my credit score needs to be greatly improved, and I intend on settling/closing on the 15K in collections in the next 3 months. My question is: Is it possible for my credit score to increase if I settle the 15K in collections and keep an on time payment for all by existing accounts, and will this be enough to be preapproved for a mortgage?

Here are some details that may give a better picture of my situation:

Debt/Income Ratio: 17%

Annual Salary: 360K/year in a stable hospital position as a physician

Current Savings: 50K

Amount allocated for downpayment: 100K

Mortgage sought: 15yr fixed

Age of credit accounts: 14yrs

FICO: 600

Any insight would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: need advice on rebuilding credit for mortgage application in 2016

@rubensmadder wrote:

Hi,