cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

newbie here.....where to start?

tag
topcop12

newbie here.....where to start?

Hello all.  I knew my credit was bad as I had run into some financial troubles.  I pulled my credit reports and my EQ is 516 and TU is 560.  I don't have many negatives but the ones ihave are biggies.

I have two capital one cards.  Once since 1997 and it only has one 30 day late.  I just sent a letter asking them to forgive that one payment.  On my other capital one card that i have had since 2004 there were two 30 day lates and again I sent a letter on that card asking for them to forgive those two.  I am not sure how accepting capital one is to that but the accounts are still open and there have been no late pays other than what I mentioned.

I have a kay jewlers account that went 90 days past due in 2008 but then i paid it off.  The status shows paid as agreed but still is negative

I also have a car loan and mortagage thru Wells Fargo.  They were both ran 30-60 days behind for several months last year before I got them caught up.  (Last year was bad financially for me).

Then there are the medical bills.  The hospital I go to uses their in house collections agency for a while and then sells the debt off.  Is there any way to get medical bills removed as negatives or is this a myth i've always heard about.

It just seems so much I'm not sure where to start.  I just started reading up on all this. I have heard of companies like Lexington Law and Sky Blue that claim to have success getting things removed but I dont want to get scammed so have been avoiding them.

My initial goal is to get to 600 - 650 - 700.  My schedule is super hectic so i am looking for any and all input that may be of help.

thanks again for any input.  Oh if it matters I live in Ohio.

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
apriestl
Established Member

Re: newbie here.....where to start?