Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

options for paying off AMEX?

tag
shasta
Regular Contributor

options for paying off AMEX?

I'm a travelling contractor and I've used my AMEX for hotel, gas and food expenses. I've never missed a payment and I've never been late.

This month, I haven't been paid yet by my employers and it looks like I won't be able to payoff my monthly debt at the due date. My total bill due for the AMEX is $3200.

I make enough monthly in per diem to cover that, but if this company doesn't pay me, I will probably have to find another job which is going to cause more problems. My other monthly expenses are covered, but I don't know how to approach the AMEX bill.

any ideas? I haven't been late on any bill in about 7 years. This is starting to worry me

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
tiger_uppercut
Established Contributor

Re: options for paying off AMEX?

@shasta wrote:

I'm a travelling contractor and I've used my AMEX for hotel, gas and food expenses. I've never missed a payment and I've never been late.

This month, I haven't been paid yet by my employers and it looks like I won't be able to payoff my monthly debt at the due date. My total bill due for the AMEX is $3200.

I make enough monthly in per diem to cover that, but if this company doesn't pay me, I will probably have to find another job which is going to cause more problems. My other monthly expenses are covered, but I don't know how to approach the AMEX bill.

any ideas? I haven't been late on any bill in about 7 years. This is starting to worry me

I'd get a non-charge card right away and do a 0% APR balance transfer. You should have some type of credit card that you can use for expenses that doesn't need to be PIF every month for these kinds of emergencies. What are your scores?

Message 2 of 7
shasta
Regular Contributor

684, TU & EX

Message 3 of 7
myscorerocks
Regular Contributor