Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

paid charge off question

tag
gagum129
Regular Contributor

paid charge off question

I just paid off a charge off account I had with First Savings Credit Card. I had tried sending a goodwill letter to get them to  delete the charge off if I paid in full. I also tried to negotiate with the rep I talked to on the phone to delete account or remove negatives. I am pretty new to this and am trying to get my credit cleaned up. Is there anything else I might try that I might not have thought of? This was a legitimate charge off. I ran into some medical bills and such and got behind. This account was charged off about a year ago but never went to a collection agency. I have been making payments for the last year and finally paid off today. Any thoughts or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Starting Score: 582
Current Score:
Equifax 684 MyFico 10/10/11
Transunion 659 lender pull 7/6/11
Experian 690 lender pull 7/6/11

Goal Score: 700

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

Re: paid charge off question

@gagum129 wrote:

I just paid off a charge off account I had with First Savings Credit Card. I had tried sending a goodwill letter to get them to  delete the charge off if I paid in full. I also tried to negotiate with the rep I talked to on the phone to delete account or remove negatives. I am pretty new to this and am trying to get my credit cleaned up. Is there anything else I might try that I might not have thought of? This was a legitimate charge off. I ran into some medical bills and such and got behind. This account was charged off about a year ago but never went to a collection agency. I have been making payments for the last year and finally paid off today. Any thoughts or suggestions are greatly appreciated.