Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

rebuilding my credit hopefully soon

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

rebuilding my credit hopefully soon

Hello,

I am new to this sight and just been doing a lot of reading. I am trying to rrebuild my credit because I would like to purchase a house using a VA loan. My lender I wsa going through said I needed to pay all of my collections and also pay down my credit cards. And then I would be able to be approved. He didnt mention anything about a minimun score. BUt as I been reading, I see that 620 is the minumum. Any advice would be helpful. The score stimulator sayd if I pay down my credit cards down to 90-100 percent that is how I would raise my score the highest.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
LS2982
Mega Contributor

Re: rebuilding my credit hopefully soon

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello,

I am new to this sight and just been doing a lot of reading. I am trying to rrebuild my credit because I would like to purchase a house using a VA loan. My lender I wsa going through said I needed to pay all of my collections and also pay down my credit cards. And then I would be able to be approved. He didnt mention anything about a minimun score. BUt as I been reading, I see that 620 is the minumum. Any advice would be helpful. The score stimulator sayd if I pay down my credit cards down to 90-100 percent that is how I would raise my score the highest.

Welcome!

You'll find alot of useful information here, as there are good people here. I would recommend paying off your collections (and try for a PFD before you pay, because a paid collection is as negative as unpaid) and keep your util. on your CC's at 6-10%. To get your home it may not be neccessary for collections to be gone totally but to reflect "Paid in full" status on your CR. The big thing is keeping your CC's util. down and paying bills on time.

EQ FICO 548 3/3/16
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable