Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

settle credit card debt

tag
blackdust
Established Member

settle credit card debt

I need to settle all of my credit card debt. I am a full-time student with two children and a wife. I have 5,550 in debt. I only have 560 dollars a month to live on. Where do I start?

app free since 11/24/12 In Garden Until December 31st 2013
Walmart Discover 3,000 : Meijer 600 : Local Bank Card 500 : Capital One Platinum 500 : Best Buy Reward Zone 400 : Chase Slate 200
Message 1 of 21
20 REPLIES 20
sr383
Regular Contributor

Re: settle credit card debt

$5, 200 in available credit, and $5, 500 owed? :-o
Costco TrueEarningsSallie Mae MasterCardDiscover itUS Bank Cash+Chase SlateBlue Cash EverydayFidelity VisaTU-803/EQ-808/EX-800
Message 2 of 21
blackdust
Established Member

Yeah/ Man Sad I am 22. I will get pass this. My wifes credit is good! I have read diffrent reports as to when I can settle on debt. Some say settle with orginal creditor and other say wait until the credit is sent to collections. I have no job. My familys car is in my wifes name and our trailer is in my wifes name. So I dont think they can sue me when I dont have anything. I am wanting to settle for 10 - 40 cents on the dollar. Any advise?

Walmart Discover 3,000 : Meijer 600 : Local Bank Card 500 : Capital One Platinum 500 : Best Buy Reward Zone 400 : Chase Slate 200
Message 3 of 21
sr383
Regular Contributor

Original creditor is always best. But if the delinquencies are recent (less than 12 months), I don't expect that they'd be too willing to settle for such small percentages.

I think the overall amount owed is too small to bother with bankruptcy.

The best scenario I see is that:

1. You chose a major that will pay well, so it's all worth it, in the end.
  2. You get by for the next few years, dealing with a murderer's row of collection agencies that try to intimidate you into paying.