Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

should I default?

tag
jcstarkey8826
Established Contributor

should I default?

I have 2 student loans (one payment) with mohela. Tried GWing for about 6 months now with no luck AT ALL!!! I did a forebearance two different times, about a year apart. both for 6 months. I now have 6 months consecutive lates on both loans from 2008 and 2010.

The conclusion ive come down to is... If I default and then make 9 payments via rehab program, they take all of the derog away, but I've been making on time payments for 2 years now and they wont even give me a chance.

So default and hurt my score, but get everything removed in 9 months, or keep going as most hit the 2 year mark soon enough and hope that helps to where those lates wont matter. It has my on-time percentage as 84% which is terrible, but I didnt know they would count those forebearances as late payments. Ive only paid late (knowingly) 2 times on that loan, but its killing my on-time payments history.

In my wallet: Discover it 6800 CL, Capital One Quicksilver Sig 5k CL, Chase Freedom 4k CL, GCU Patinum Visa 1500 CL
Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
calihlove75
Established Contributor

Re: should I default?

That seems so unfair that you have to default all the way to fix this. I would not purposely default. I would imagine the score damage would be terrible. I would keep making ontime payments and attempting to goodwill.

100% Ficos: EX 780 , TU 783, EQ 776 inquiries last 2 years/1 year/6 months: EX-0/0/0, TU-0/0/0, EQ-1/0/0~ last credit card app 6/24/13- New car loan 3/8/2014- Discover IT $12,500~Kohls $1000~Amex BCE $4000~ Walmart Discover $7500~NFCU Signature CashRewards $23,300 Chase Freedom MC $6000~ Chase Amazon Visa $1900~ Cap 1/HSBC MC $3800~ Amazon Store $7000~ Fingerhut $1050
Message 2 of 15
jcstarkey8826
Established Contributor