Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why wont my FICO score go up?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

why wont my FICO score go up?

Hello,

I have been working hard trying to increase my FICO score. I had 4 collections deleted. My score is at 544 and won't budge. Right now i have 3 student loans all paid and up to date, one CC with a high util rate 96%, a charge off and a car payment that i have been paying on time for 7 months now. I know I need to pay down the credit card but thought the collection removal would have given me some boost? Any suggestions? i already tried to GW the charge off with no luck.  Thanks!

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: why wont my FICO score go up?

Where are you getting these scores and how much time in between each personal inquiry are you giving?  

Message 2 of 12
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

You are right that the revolving utilization is hurting your score ~ also you might consider opening another credit card account ~ FICO likes to see several open accounts.

Is the one CO the only negative account on your reports ?
March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX
Message 3 of 12
FrugalRican
Blogger

You might not see a boost until you get that CC down under 9% and that last CO taken off your report.

My suggestions:

(1) CC down, down, down! 96% is WAY too high.

(2) Get your official FICO score, if you haven't already. What score is the 544?
(3) Apply for another card, if you are unsure that you'd even get one (depending on your FICO score) then you might want to open a secured card. It'll help out that utilization a little as well.

(4) Continue, and DO NOT QUIT with the GW's.

Follow my financial journey: http://www.frugalrican.com

EQ FICO (01/16/2012): 656 - EQ FICO (02/16/2012): 743 - EQ (02/24/2012): 760 - EX (04/28/2012): 739 - GOAL 2013: 800+