cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do you give friends/family credit advice?

tag
Blackswizz750
Established Contributor

Re: Do you give friends/family credit advice?

Can you tell me the name. I am serious need of a living breathing budget. We do everything from our head and bank statements. We do write stuff out once a year and compare and add a buffer for utilities because the rise during the summer and winter months.
Message 51 of 102
Anonymous
Not applicable

My family doesn't talk about money, so there is that. As far as my firends go, many of my friends are in really bad credit positions. They often turn to social media asking for short term loans or a co signer from thier friends.

While I do not loan or co-sign for my friends, I do comment on these posts saying that I've been rebuilding my credit for a few years now, and would be happy to share what I've learned with them. So far, no takers. It bothers me to see them selling things that the bought (and couldn't afford) only to turn around and sell it a number of weeks/months later to cover some unexpected bill. Nevertheless, I stay out of it. I'm not trying to ruin a friendship because they aren't ready to address their credit shortcomings.

Message 52 of 102
Anonymous
Not applicable

I've learned that you only give advice to friends/family IF they asked. Don't want to create problems lol. I did recommend my sister to signup for a Discover it card a couple of days ago. She was approved for 4k. Her 1st CC. She knows nothing about credit, only use debit/cash. For protection against unauthorized charges, I told her to use the Discover card and PIF each statement. Treat it like you would treat a debit card. 

Message 53 of 102
Blackswizz750
Established Contributor