Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Joint debt

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Joint debt

Hello all.  Im currently split from my wife, not divorced yet.  We sure no mutual bills accept on a home we purchased 2 years ago and the solar panels which we took a loan on.  Now we're seperate, haven't started the divorce process yet, yet still have these joint bills.  Home loan is a total of about 190,000 and the solar panels are 2 different loans in the amount of about 10,000 each.   She told me she's gonna file for bankruptcy in december which to my knowledge now puts the burden on me 100%.  Outside of this debt I have about 8,000 in personal debt, cards are maxed out minus my discover which im riding the line with. Im a small business owner with the company basically not even being operation right now,  currently working inconsistant off the books, which roughly gives me about 400 weekly. I know the mortgage gets paid on time monthly, but the solar panels are just not being paid.  Im trying to build back up my credit. Current monthly expenses are about $900.  What would be the first steps? i recently got my credit report which is how i got my totals on debt. All help is greatly appreciated.   

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Moneyklutz
Frequent Contributor

Re: Joint debt

I had a very similar experience to yours with my last relationship and my biggest mistake was not consulting an attorney early enough.