Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

An etiquette question re: thank you notes

tag
isoldmyatlas
Frequent Contributor

An etiquette question re: thank you notes

Hi myFICOers!

12 weeks ago I attended the wedding of one of my good friends from high school.  We're 26 now, and she's the first in my group of friends to get hitched.  My dad also attended as he know her parents well.  The thing is, neither of us have received a thank you note yet (we each gifted something to the couple).  Seeing as how this is the first non-family wedding I've been to, I'm not sure what the etiquette is supposed to be here.  Should I mention this to her? Should my dad ask her parents? Should we ignore it? Or do you think they just haven't started writing notes yet? Or do people just...not write thank you notes any more?

I feel a little silly asking this but I'm new to this whole wedding business, and I'd better ask now since I'm sure she won't be the only friend getting married in the near future Smiley Wink

TU: 793 (6/13/17) | EQ: 787 (7/17/17) | EX: 788 (6/15/18)

Cap1 Quicksilver, $4,750 (4/2012); Discover IT, $40,000 (10/2012); Chase Amazon Rewards, $14,600 (10/2012); AMEX Hilton HHonors, $15,000 (11/2012); AMEX Blue Cash Everyday, $15,000 (01/2013); Barclaycard Arrival+, $10,000 (07/2013); Citi Home Depot $8,000 (06/2018)
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
vanillabean
Valued Contributor

Re: An etiquette question re: thank you notes

I've been married for longer than I haven't been, so I don't really know. Times may have changed. Did you google Emily Post? She can be highly entertaining by the way; in 1928 she claimed that "to 'zigzag' the fork from left hand to right hand at nearly every mouthful is a ridiculous practice of the would-be elegant that is never seen in best society."

Message 2 of 8
IOBA
Senior Contributor

IMO, the gift receiver should have sent thank you notes!