Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Funny story about perceived wealth...

tag
DeeBee78
Valued Contributor

Funny story about perceived wealth...

So I have a friend who has pretty bad credit, and is desperate to fit in with the Vegas crowd - big parties, nice clothes, nice car, big name credit card spending - you know how it goes.

On my last trip to Vegas, I asked my bad credit friend if he wanted to go out with me for dinner. He declined, saying he had to stay home, and couldn't spend any money because he had to pay off his Amex Gold card.

Hold on, wait a minute? How does someone who has no other credit cards, and a 20% interest rate car loan get an Amex card? I've been rebuilding for three years and still don't have one! 

Well, I did a little snooping. Turns out he took the "Your Name Here" fake Amex from someone's Amex offer and stuck it in his wallet. It's not one of the paper ones, but one of the legit looking Amex Gold cards. He keeps it right at the front, so everyone can see it, but never pulls it out.

It just makes me laugh, when thinking about the things people do to pass themselves off as wealthy. 

Message 1 of 26
25 REPLIES 25
youdontkillmoney
Valued Contributor

Re: Funny story about perceived wealth...

So to summarize, your friend got a prmotional plastic Gold Amex card that is for advertisement purposes and placed it in his wallet to pretend he has one since you can see the design of it atop when he opens his wallet and when he says I gotta pay off the Gold amex card, he in fact doesn't have one, but just lied ot you to avoid going out with you.

Message 2 of 26
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

Maybe he is embarrassed about his own situation.  Nobody really knows what goes on in the minds of others.  Maybe he just didn't have the funds to go out.

Starting Score: 504
July 2013 score:
EQ FICO 819, TU08 778, EX "806 lender pull 07/26/2013
Goal Score: All Scores 760+, Newest goal 800+
Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge