cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you react when people talk to you as if you are new to credit?

tag
money_talks
Frequent Contributor

How do you react when people talk to you as if you are new to credit?

When you call customer service or go to a branch and they start talking to you as if you have no clue to how credit works. I ask this because most who read this forum have a lot of knowledge of how credit works and can go into a lot of details. Do you stop the CSR immediately and say "I know, I'm an expert", do you listen along just to be nice?, do you correct something they say if it's not accurate? etc...

I'm sure the CSRs are trained to speak to everyone the same way and I'm also sure some CSRs are also trained to not give you the entire credit picture just so you can apply for their products.

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
DrZoidberg
Established Contributor

Re: How do you react when people talk to you as if you are new to credit?

Listen to what they say and match against my knowledge. I don't know everything about credit so I listen so that  I may learn something new. 

Message 2 of 11
Kenny
Moderator Emeritus

@DrZoiberg wrote:

Listen to what they say and match against my knowledge. I don't know everything about credit so I listen so that  I may learn something new. 

I agree. I let them say whatever they want to, so I also know whether to trust their advice later on, as well.

Message 3 of 11
Gunnar419
Valued Contributor

@KennyRS wrote:

@DrZoiberg wrote:

I agree. I let them say whatever they want to, so I also know whether to trust their advice later on, as well.

Same here. However I have to say I don't very often find them talking down to me or treating me as a newbie. Because of MyFico, I've even had the experience to give CSRs some corrected info about credit once or twice. Smiley Surprised

Message 4 of 11
azguy13
Senior Contributor