Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What would you do with 20k?

tag
unc0mm0n1
Established Contributor

What would you do with 20k?

Hi everyone longtime lurker first time poster. First, I want to thank you guys for all the information you have given me over the past 10 months it has been really helpful.  Now I have new situation and maybe you guys can help. I'm a veteran (6yrs Army) who now attends a top3 law school. I just turned 30 recently got married and go to school on the GI bill. I own my car and the only debt I have is 8k in school loans. I have about 3k in the bank. Anyway I'll be taking a job this summer where they'll pay me 3600usd/week by the end of the summer I figure I'll still have about 20k of that money. I'm not sure what to do with it. Should I pay off my loans even though I don't have to for another year (I have one more year of school left) or invest the money. I've already maxed out me and my wife's IRA for the year. I really want to build up my credit as I was a little reckless in my younger days my credit score is hovering around 690. Should I buy some real estate? I know some guys who invest in foreclosed real estate but I'm not sure if that is a great market? Invest in stocks?  Maybe an index fund? Any help would be appreciated.

Last App March 23, 2015. Gardening until November 25, 2015
Current Score: 766 EX 734 EQ 780 TU 6/30/2015Starting Score/Goal Score: 580s/780s across the board
Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
E150GT
Frequent Contributor

Re: What would you do with 20k?

real estate... Do it right though

CSP-$8700, Amex BCE-17.2k, Chase Freedom-$5700
Discover It-$6600, USAA MC-$5900 Ink Bold- $12k United Explorer-$5k
Message 2 of 18
HiLine
Blogger