cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice on how to remove late payments reported to the bureaus on my student loan

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Advice on how to remove late payments reported to the bureaus on my student loan

I have read many articles on what strategies have been used to remove late payments on student loans to the US Dept of Education from my credit report (such as writing Goodwill Letters), but my situation seems to me more unique and I'm not sure how to approach them.

I am extremely fortunate to have parents who have taken it upon themselves to pay for my education and make the payments on my student loans. The loans are set up in my name and I wasn't involved really at all when these were being set up. I'm not 100% informed on how these loans work or what the actual situation was, but it looks like the first 4 payments on the loan after I graduated were made.

After that there were 9 payments that were missed (I haven't really been told the exact reason why, my parents might've just forgotten), the loan went into default, and it was reported to the credit bureaus which is negatively affecting my credit score. 

I believe my parents opted for the loan rehabilitation program which removed the default from my credit, but I still have those 9 late payments on my report. Also, it looks like my loan was transferred from the US Dept of Education to Nelnet. There haven't been any late payments reported since.