cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Balance transfer with 0% APR to pay off student loans good idea?

tag
VRW

Balance transfer with 0% APR to pay off student loans good idea?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the MyFICO forums but I have been a subscriber to Score Watch for the past 2 years. My Equifax FICO score is 795. I don't know the other two.

Currently, I have about $10,000 in Wells Fargo private student loans at 7.25% interest rate and about $10,000 in Great Lakes (government) subsidized and unsubsidized loans at a rate of 5-6%. I received an offer from my Capital One credit card to use a checkbook with a limit of $15,000, 0% APR for 12 months with a transaction fee of 2%. It seems I could save some money in interest.

I was wondering if it would be a good idea to do a balance transfer to pay off $15,000 of my student loans. I will definitely be able to pay off the entire $20,000 debt in the next 6-7 months, but I don't know how doing something like this will affect my credit score, since it appears I will be transfering debt from an installment account into a revolving account. My main concern with this is that I will be filling out a FAFSA application in January/February to go to grad school and I'm afraid that if this balance transfer hurts my credit score, my interest rate for grad school loans will be very high. Can anyone offer some advice?

Thanks

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Luscher
Valued Contributor

Re: Balance transfer with 0% APR to pay off student loans good idea?

If you are going to be able to pay it off in 6-7 months I would just leave it how it is now.
CHASE FREEDOM | AMEX BCE | | BOFA REWARDS | CITI TYP | Quicksilver | DISCOVER IT | Sallie Mae | CHASE CSP
--------$32,000-------------$30,000-----------$30,000-----------$30,000-----$13,000---------$18,200----------$15,000---------$6,500----

FICO - TU: 780 EX: 784 EQ: 781
Message 2 of 9
SCF
Valued Contributor