Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Student Loan Repayment Option

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Best Student Loan Repayment Option

I've been a student for way too long and have amassed quite a significant chunk of student loan (~$225,000). I'll finally be graduating this May and will be entering the workforce. My starting salary will be $160,000. I'm trying to decide what my best approach is in terms of taking this monster of a student loan debt on. I'm assuming that I won't qualify for any of the IBR/ICR repayment options since my wife makes about $90,000 and has no loans. 

Anyway, my question is whether it makes sense to be aggressive and try to pay off my loan off as quickly as possible. I believe under the standard plan, my monthly payments would be around $2500 and I'd be able to pay it off in 10 years. The other option is to see if I can go with a longer repayment plan (perhaps through consolidation/refinance) with the goal of lower monthly payments. I believe under a 20-year term, my monthly payment would be around $1500-1600. 

The reason why I'm even considering the second option is because the wife and I'd like to buy a house... ideally within the next 2-3 years. But with this student loan debt, I'm not entirely sure whether this is even realistic. Anyway, I'm thinking if I go with the 20-year term, we can save more for the down payment. And once we buy a house, I get make greater payments towards the student loan. Of course, the 20-year term makes me nervous because of the increased interest I'd be paying for the entire life of the loan. 

I'd greatly appreciate if anyone could provide some advice/suggestions. I've made some poor financial decisions in the past but hoping to make smarter choices from here on out. 

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
travisr0
Contributor

Re: Best Student Loan Repayment Option