Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to pay off Student loan debt

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Best way to pay off Student loan debt

I finally paid off all my CC debt and now my plan is to work on Student loan debt. I graduated from gradschool in 2005 with 40,000 in loans, 11 year later I owe 28,898 at 3.500%. I was trying to pay down my loans like my CC debt and make bi weekly payments but i saw the additional payment of $150    88.63 went to principal and 61. 37 went to intrest. When I called ACS they said intrest is compounded daily and the best way to pay off my balance is to make  extra payments on the same day as my scheduled payment. My plan is to just save the 150 biweekly and just add it to my monthly payment of 217 for a total of 517. I know ACS has been in trouble in the past for some of their practices. Does that sound correct ? what is the best plan to pay this debt off before 2029? 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Best way to pay off Student loan debt

Anyone?? Can someone help with this? my next payment is due on the 28th and i want to know what is the best way to make the payment. I understand the biweekly method  lets you pay one extra payment a year  but if im adding an additional 300 to my scheduled payment of 217 (517  monthly payment)  isnt this better then the biweekly payment plan ?  or with the daily compounded intrest should i still be paying biweekly? 

Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

How are your credit scores? Are you planning on any other large purchases in the future? Car? House? 

If you don't plan on making those large purchases in the next 15 months, I would try for the Chase Slate Card. You can balance transfer directly from the loan balance, and pay 0% interest on the card for 15 months, plus no balance transfer fee.

What this would like:

$217 minimum monthly payment to ACS

$300 to paying Chase Slate card balance