Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Consolidation Steps and Questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Consolidation Steps and Questions

What's up party people? I'm currently a college student and I was wondering a few things.

1) What are the steps I need to take to go about consolidating my loans?

2) How will the terms of my loans be affected?

3) How long does the consolidation process take?

4) Will future loan disbursements be automatically consolidated or will I need to manually do that myself?

Thanks!

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Consolidation Steps and Questions

Hi, the Direct Consolidation process is available through the Department of Education at www.studentloans.gov. It typically takes 2-3 months. During this time, it's also a good idea to choose a payment plan based on your income, if the Standard payments are too high.

The Direct Consolidation process itself will combine all of your loans into one, with a single loan servicer and payment. Your Direct Consolidation loan will still be divided into two parts: subsidized and unsubsized. The interest rate will remain a weighted average, rounded up to the nearest 1/8th of a percent. 

You can add future loan disbursements from a different degree, for instance, by re-Consolidating as long as you have additional loans to add. You won't be able to go through the process until you're at half time or less enrollment though. 

Also - keep an eye out for student loan relief companies that try to claim they offer a separate consolidation product. They just fill out the government paperwork for you and take credit for the process. 

Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi, the Direct Consolidation process is available through the Department of Education at www.studentloans.gov. It typically takes 2-3 months. During this time, it's also a good idea to choose a payment plan based on your income, if the Standard payments are too high.