cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does having a student loan help or hurt your credit?

tag
audia4
Established Contributor

My student loans are now up to $18,500 and I'm still a student (so not paying on it yet and of course they are just reporting the high balance and 0 past due).

Is this actually helping or hurting my credit by being on there? Or does it not effect anything until I start paying on it?

TU: 819 EQ: 821 EX 811

**$7500****$30,000*****$13500****$42,200****$10,000***$10,700*****$6000****$11,000*****OPEN****OPEN******$27,000*****11,000

Message 1 of 24
23 REPLIES 23
InvincibleSummer3
Established Contributor

Re: Does having a student loan help or hurt your credit?

It's not really doing much at the moment. Once you start paying, you'll be able to show good payment history and that will help your score. Other than that, it might count in some fashion if you're planning to app for a mortgage or something. Are you doing that anytime soon?

Message 2 of 24
blitz
Valued Member

It helps a little bit. It's SOMETHING on your credit report, and in my experience, they report each month. You're likely to be approved for store credit cards with minimal balances at this point, perhaps a student credit card, if you're looking to build credit off of this.

Starting Score: AVG 529 (5/2013)
Current Score: 626 (03/2014) - Barclaycard FICO
Goal Score: 650

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 3 of 24
InvincibleSummer3
Established Contributor

@blitz wrote:

It helps a little bit. It's SOMETHING on your credit report, and in my experience, they report each month. You're likely to be approved for store credit cards with minimal balances at this point, perhaps a student credit card, if you're looking to build credit off of this.

Just out of curiosity - how do they report while you're still in school? If no payments are being made, don't they report as deferred or something?

Message 4 of 24
hopingsoon
Regular Contributor