Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Economic Hardship deferment vs. Income based repayment

tag
NL
New Visitor
New Visitor

Economic Hardship deferment vs. Income based repayment

Hi! I'm new to myFico and to the forum.  I'm a 4th year med student who will be starting a residency training program in July 2009.  As of this year, resident physicians can not defer loan repayments unless applying through the Economic Hardship Deferment program, which allows deferment for one year.  Aftter the year is up, I'll have to pay loan using income basement repayment or regular loan payments. A residents training salary is only ~$45,000 '(my training program lasts 4 yrs, and I have ~$250,000 in med school debt.  Does any one know how the income-based repayment works?  Also, is it better to enter repayment through the income-based program or defer to give myself time to adjust to a new city?  How would deferment reflect in my credit score (EQ 702)?  Does income-based payment help my credit score or would it hurt the score since the payment would be less than a full payment?  Please help!!
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
MattH
Senior Contributor

Re: Economic Hardship deferment vs. Income based repayment

http://www.aamc.org/advocacy/library/educ/ccraaimpact.pdf

TU 791 02/11/2013, EQ 800 1/29/2011 , EX Plus FAKO 812, EX Vantage Score 955 3/19/2010 wife's EQ 9/23/2009 803
EX always was my highest when we could pull all three
Always remember: big print giveth, small print taketh away
If you dunno what tanstaafl means you must Google it
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable