Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extending Grace Period with MyFedLoan

tag
tpatterson2k9
Regular Contributor

Extending Grace Period with MyFedLoan

I have a question about how to extend the grace period for my student loans through MyFedLoan.org.  

I graduated with my psychology M.A. in May of this year with $17,000 in SLs.  These loans were taken out prior to July 1, 2012, so it is my understanding that interest will continue to be paid by the government while I am in school.  With that said, I will be starting the MBA program at the same school I got the M.A. this fall (I already registered for classes), which supposedly will keep my loans in a grace period until I finish the program.  From what MyFedLoan tells me, I don't need to do anything at this point as they will pull my enrollment information from some online database indicating that I am enrolled full-time in a graduate program.  I am somewhat weary of this statement as I don't know if schools actually post online that I am enrolled full-time (the school is California State University, Fullerton).  Is it true that they do this even if I won't be taking out any more SLs (I plan to pay as I go)?  Should I trust what MyFedLoan is telling me?  The school told me to have MyFedLoan fill out a deferrment form so I can submit it to the school.  Which is true?

Starting Scores (lender pull 3/27/10): 759 (EQ), 752 (TU), 749 (EX)
Current Scores (myFICO 4/4/11): 768 (EQ)
Goal Scores: 800

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
laz98
Senior Contributor

Re: Extending Grace Period with MyFedLoan

Interest will be paid by the government on subsidized loans only, just to clarify.  Not sure if you already knew that or not.