Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help Please!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help Please!

In 2007, I was a fresh faced 18 year old recently graduated from high school with my sights set on college - and only $20,000 standing in my way. I received a colorful advertisement in the mail from Chase Education Loans promising the bright future I was so desperately seeking, and snagged the opportunity immediately. Sure, I read the fine print - but at 18, I didn't quite understand the meaning behind "variable interest rates" and signing away my soul. I wanted to go to college, and Chase offered the solution. Problem solved!

During my first month at school, I received a piece of mail from Chase - my first piece of mail addressed to my dorm! I opened it up, and sat down in shock as I read the numbers printed on the paper - My $20,000 loan was in deferment until I graduated, but would continue to accrue interest during that time period. Over 30 years, I would end up paying $100,000 in interest - that's a grand total of $120,000 for my freshman year of college.

Once I'd obtained my bachelor's and my loan came out of deferment, I was sent a bill with a whopping total of $34,000 to start paying on - and a minimum monthly payment of $330. Out of that $330, only $30 goes towards the principal of the loan - meaning I'm paying $300 a month in interest.

Drowning seems to be the only way to describe how I feel when faced with the reality of my situation - although helpless, ashamed, and depressed are right up there as well. After 3 years of making payments on this loan, I haven't even scratched the surface - my statement this month says I still owe $34,171. The total hasn't gone down despite paying every month, it's gone up!