Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with options for paying off private loans

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help with options for paying off private loans

Hello. I'm a musician who made the unfortunate decision to go to school for a plethera of majors in the music field to try and figure out where I belong in the workforce. I went for songwriting, audio engineering, and music education. I spent the last 6 years of my life wracking up my private loans. I recently left college without graduating because I realized that in the field of audio engineering experience is the key to landing a well paid job and I wasn't going to gain much out of being in school except a large bill of interest. I just got my student loan bill in the mail. Turns out I'm going to owe the private lenders (Discover) 232,000$ by the time I'm finished paying them off. I have to pay 1500$ per month while I barely make 1600/month as a teacher's aide for a public school. I live with my parents which they are not exactly happy about and they can't offer me any help to pay back my loans. When I called Discover and Great Lakes they told me that my only options were to defer for 12 months and then at the end of the defferment my monthly bill will go up. I can't claim complete ignorance but if I had known that this was the road I was going to be on I would have never went to college. Does anyone have any idea if there ight be something I can do to get my loan payments down so that I won't have to pay so much ore later on? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
SCF
Valued Contributor

Re: Help with options for paying off private loans

What are the exact balances and interest rates on your loans?  Do you have any federal loans?