Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Heroes Act to fix student loan reporting

tag
themizlyne
Regular Contributor

Heroes Act to fix student loan reporting

I have written a goodwill letter to try to get my student loan derogatory reports removed.  I would appreciate it if the letter could be reviewed and suggestions for improvement given.  Thanks in advance.

"Greetings:

I am writing to request assistance in correcting the status of my student loans and the information reported to the three credit reporting agencies.  I believe that my situation can be corrected under the Heroes Act (Public Law 108-76, 110-93).

I was an Army reserve member who was activated on 25 January 2007 (one month after I completed my Masters degree program) and deployed to Baghdad, Iraq on April 19, 2007.  I remained in Iraq until April 20, 2009.  When I returned to the US, I was placed on terminal leave until June 24, 2009.  Effective June 24, 2009, I am a 100% disabled veteran and my student loans have been discharged as a result of my permanent and total disability.

When I was activated I requested military deferment for my loans, but found out after my return home that the deferment had only lasted for my first year of deployment and that I was in default on all of my student loans and I just gave up.  As soon as the VA completed my disability determination I requested and received discharge of all of my loans effective 24 June 2009.

I am now trying to rebuild my life and purchase a home and am requesting that the derogatory information reported as a result of my military deployment be removed from the credit reporting bureaus.  I have enclosed a copy of my DD Form 214 which lists the time period I was deployed in Item 18 (line 4).

Thank you."

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
bahbahd
Established Contributor

Re: Heroes Act to fix student loan reporting

@themizlyne wrote: