cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm new to this...I have late student loans on my credit report...what do I do?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm new to this...I have late student loans on my credit report...what do I do?

Right now, I have 115000 in student loans.  They are all current as they are deferred because I am in school.  On my report it shows that they have been 180 days late in the past. I never defaulted on any of them though.

What do I do?  I'm currently trying to get out of my unsecured debt and some medical debt so how do I tame the student date?

Thanks,

Dan

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
laz98
Senior Contributor

Re: I'm new to this...I have late student loans on my credit report...what do I do?

Welcome to the forums Smiley Happy

I'm not sure I understand your post.  Are you saying you've never been late, or just specifically that you didn't default?  The reason I ask is because I don't think you default until 270 days late or something ridiculous like that, but I could be wrong.

If the late payments are accurate, then all you can do is write them a letter asking them to kindly remove the late remarks out of the kindness of their hearts.  They have no obligation to do so, but it doesn't usually hurt to ask.

Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: I'm new to this...I have late student loans on my credit report...what do I do?

Hi,

What I meant to say was if there was a way to remove the previous late reports from the report.  Now that the accounts are current and being deferred, would they remove the 180 days late marks from my report.

I don't know if that impacts my score a lot but since I am current, I wonder if they would remove that mark.

Thank you

Message 3 of 7
Student_Loans_Kill
Frequent Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: