Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lost eligibility to receive any Federal student loans

tag
policebox
Contributor

Lost eligibility to receive any Federal student loans

I hope somebody can help me with this issue, as I'm not sure where to go from here.

I finished an undergraduate degree and graduated in May 2015. As an undergraduate, at least according to the NSLDS, I inadvertantly exceeded the Subsidized Loan limit for an independent undergraduate student ($23,000). However, I did not exceed the subsidized and unsubsidized aggregate loan limit for undergraduate students ($57,500).

In August 2015 I began a PhD program (at another school in a different state). For the 2015-2016 academic year I was awarded a Federal Direct Unsubsidized Loan for $10,250 each semester.

However, when processing my FAFSA for the 2016-2017 academic year, the financial aid office at my school is stating that NSLDS indicates I may have received Federal student loans in excess of loan limits established for Federal student loan programs. "You are not eliglble to receive any Federal student loans at this time. You may regain elibility in the future by repaying the amount of borrowed in excess of the aggregate limits or by making satisfactory repayment arrangements with your studnet loan holder."

I don't actually believe that I overborrowed. I think what has happened is capitalized interest is incorrectly being added into the original amount borrowered making it look as though there was overborrowing. But, whether or not I inadvertantly overborrowed I don't feel matters.

According to all the research I have conducted about the issue, It is the Department of Education's policy under Title IV that "if NSLDS shows that the loan in question has been included in a Consolidation loan, no further action on the part of the borrower is needed because by signing the promissory note, the borrower has agreed to repay any excess loan amount."