Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Making headway on my loans!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Making headway on my loans!

I don't know why I have never posted in this part of the forum before. I just always skipped over it. Anyway, when I graduated with my assoc in December, I swore that I wouldn't allow myself to get into any more student loan debt until I paid off my current student loans. At highest, they were a little over 8k. After my payment today, they will be around 4.5k. I hope to have them paid off by next spring, then maybe I can go back to school for my bachelor's. I know that most people just go straight through, and keep adding to their loans, but my brain just can't handle that. I have always had difficutly knowing that I owe a debt to anyone. Once my student loan is paid off, I will be debt free again. Does anyone else obsess about paying student loans? I know that I shouldn't worry about it, especially with 3.xx% interest being so low, but I hate the fact that I owe them money! Give me your thoughts! Am I being crazy about this?

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Making headway on my loans!

Hi Annipoo.  I understand your methodology, but there may be a better approach.  Think long-term.

How are you paying them off now?  If it's a full-time job that's related to your degree and you have future potential there, then I guess a short break to pay off your loans would be okay.  

However, if it's a part-time job and you can't see yourself working there in the future... then why not just finish school ASAP, get a higher paying job with your degree (I know, easier said than done), and pay off your loans relatively faster?

Maybe there's a scholarship out there for you?