Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NCO now has OSI Education accounts

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

NCO now has OSI Education accounts

I had two private student loans that were placed with OSI Education.  I've been making payments to them since October 2006, on time every time.

In response to my last payment, I got the usual confirmation, but the confirmation stated that OSI was now NCO but same address as before.  I did a little research and found out that as of NCO's 10k (this is a form that the SEC requires quarterly) filing in March 2008, OSI was a subsidiary of NCO.  I'll have to go further back into NCO's SEC filings to find out when that happened, or if it's always been the case.

Anyway, I'm scared that my agreement with OSI won't stand, or that NCO will come after me more hard core.  These private loans were for substantial amounts, and a judgment would really be devastating (to my career).

I'm hoping that since I'm paying, and will continue to pay, it will be in NCO's interest to leave it alone and continue to accept payments.  Has anyone else been dealing with OSI Education??  Or NCO but with student loans??  I've had a decent relationship with OSI, but I can't tell if this is a sale of OSI's accounts, or a corporate takeover, or just a corporate parent realigning a subsidiary.  I don't need to panic, right??
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: NCO now has OSI Education accounts

Federal Student loans don't have a statute of limitations so there is no need for a creditor or collection agency to file for a judgment in court. Hopefully they leave you as is paying what you have been paying. Good luck with this matter.
Message 2 of 8
LynnInMN
Frequent Contributor

I originally  worked for a company that was bought out by OSI.    Nothing changed  except  the name.   I talked to  a friend  of  mine  who  works  for  OSI still  and  again  they  noted that nothing  had changed  except the  ownership.