Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Navient SL question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Navient SL question

I currently have my student loan's serviced through Navient, divided into 7 different student loan's.

Total balance across all 7 is approximately 21k at the moment, as I've been paying on them for roughly 2 years.

My monthly payment is ~270 a month, I may one payment and Navient divies it up amongst the 7 different loans.

My question is, If I were to start paying off a few of the loan's ( most have APR around 3-3.5%, but some of them are in the 6.5% range) would my monthly payment still remain 270 after paying off a single, or a few of the loans?)

I don't mind the payment and I will more than likely start doubling my payment as soon as my car loan is paid off in a few months, but I want to ensure that Navient doesn't lower my monthly payment due to a few of the loan's being PIF.

I would think that even if I pay off 2 of the 7 loan's my payment would remain the same, they would just allocate the payment's in different %'s to the individual loan's left.

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Navient SL question

(double post by accident)

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

I've never had a student loan so I don't know but Navient has a web page for how different loans are allocated:  

https://www.navient.com/loan-customers/how-payments-work/loan-payment-allocation/

Not sure if it helps at all, but at least they have a starting point if others can't answer your question!

Also note that the CPFB sued Navient over playing games with allocations: https://www.cnbc.com/2017/01/18/cfpb-navient-hurt-borrowers-trying-this-common-repayment-hack.html

Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable