Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Help. University of Southern California Alum

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need Help. University of Southern California Alum

Hey Guys,

Ok, so I graduated from USC in 2013. Then I get a call from the collections office saying my 2012 financial aid was reversed due to parent SS # being incorrect. Which is weird because I went to school in 2013. Anyway, they are saying if I don't pay the 13k that was reversed it is going to go to collections by Friday. What should I do? There is a institutional loan through USC, called the Reilly Loan that I can do or should I take out a personal loan, pay it all in full and have a little extra to pay down bills, credit cards, etc. I have 665 EQ, 661 TU and 645 EX. I make only 45k a year. I've been at my job ever since graduation, which would be approx 1 year and 3 months. I have two collections, but am disputing one and the other I will pay. Only 300 dollars. AAoA is about 3 years.

Any help is appreciated. Thank you so much

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Luscher
Valued Contributor

Re: Need Help. University of Southern California Alum

I would ask for something in writing
CHASE FREEDOM | AMEX BCE | | BOFA REWARDS | CITI TYP | Quicksilver | DISCOVER IT | Sallie Mae | CHASE CSP
--------$32,000-------------$30,000-----------$30,000-----------$30,000-----$13,000---------$18,200----------$15,000---------$6,500----

FICO - TU: 780 EX: 784 EQ: 781
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

What exactly should I get in writing? The debt they are supposing I owe? Also, it needs to be repaid or in a payment plan by this Friday.

Thank you for your response

Message 3 of 7
SCF
Valued Contributor

Did you graduate in Spring 2013?  That aid might have been awarded in Fall 2012 for both semesters, hence why they would be calling it "2012" aid.