cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need advice! Pay off Student Loans or Make Art?

tag
DianaMH

Need advice! Pay off Student Loans or Make Art?

I have two student loans:

1. Private loan of about 19K at 7.5% interest, at $345/months for about 5 more years.

2. Direct loan US Dept of Ed consolidated of about 53K at 4.25% interest, at a current monthly payment of $213.  It's a graduated plan and the final three years of payments will be about $560/mo.  Loan term is about 19 more years.

I have no other debt at all - no car payment, mortgage or consumer debt. 

My question is this - should I try to pay off that 19k as soon as possible?  I'm currently living at home and can pay about $1000 a month towards the loan, since I'm not paying rent.  I take home about $2800/month and have 13k in savings. 

On the other hand, I'm working in a job I hate, and would love to quit and live off my savings while I work on my art (yes, i'm an artist).  And defer my student loan payments. I applied to grad school for art and didn't get in - which is probably good, since it would have put me into more debt.  But I have been taking classes after work all year and would love a sabbatical to just practice and see how much I can produce and if I can support myself as an artist. 

I'm 33 years old, single, and no kids.  I feel like I'm at a cross roads - art or "sensible living, steady job." I also really value being in good financial standing, and would love to just pay off my loans and be debt free. I was in default on both loans for a long time and just pulled myself out recently. 

Help!

EQ  4/9/09 - 635;  9/10/10 - 729
TU  11/26/09 - 585;  3/30/10 - 760

EXP 3/6/10 - 734

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
BrokeStudent2010
Contributor

Re: Need advice! Pay off Student Loans or Make Art?

Pay off your loans. When you are on your sabbatical you will go into FORBEARANCE not DEFERMENT.