cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Needing Advice for Husband (default student loans)...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Needing Advice for Husband (default student loans)...

Husband and I are looking to purchase a home in the next 1-2 years.

Our biggest concern: his student loans. From what he reports they are in default.

I'm afraid that I have very little experience with what happens to student loans after you fail to pay (not sure if they work in the same way as CCs, where you're charged off after so many days late).

He gets letters in the mail from Navient (private lender I'm assuming?) asking for payment but if I recall correctly he states they might have recently been purchased or taken over by Navient? As in it wasn't Navient to begin with? Also, he states he's paying on a *couple* of them (assuming some of the ones listed under Navient), but definitely not all of them.

On his credit report he's showing the following verbage:

ACCOUNT NAME:

DPT ED/SLM

ADDRESS:

1100 USA PKWY FISHERS, IN 46037

ACCOUNT OPENED:

Ranges from 2011-2012

ACCOUNT STATUS:

CLOSED

PAYMENT STATUS:

Ranges from "Paid satisfactorally" to "Pays as agreed"

ACCOUNT NAME:

NAVIENT

ADDRESS:

(1) 123 S JUSTISON ST STE 30 WILMINGTON, DE 19801

(2) 11100 USA PKWY FISHERS, IN 46037

(3) PO BOX 9500 WILKES BARRE, PA 1877

ACCOUNT OPENED:

Ranges from 2006-2008

PAST DUE:

Ranges from $0-$9k

ACCOUNT STATUS:

Ranges from "OPEN" to "CLOSED"

PAYMENT STATUS:

Ranges from "CHARGE-OFF" to " Account transferred to another office"

TERMS:

Ranges from 120 MO-300 MO

How should we start tackling this? In order to get back on track, how do we even know who to contact? And is it common for Navient or other private lenders to offer payback options based on income?

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
dragontears
Senior Contributor

Re: Needing Advice for Husband (default student loans)...