cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Negatives to taking on more SL debt under Income Contingent??

tag
goodygoody
Regular Contributor

Negatives to taking on more SL debt under Income Contingent??

Hi there!  I have an obscene amount of student loan debt from undergraduate and graduate work (original amount was about $76,000, but it's up to $100,000 at this point with interest.  Luckily it was all federal loans, so I'm able to pay under the Income Contingent plan, and my payment is less than $200 a month.  I was recently accepted to 2 graduate programs - 1 of which is $16,000 more in total than the other, but is the one I would prefer attending.  At this point, my debt is so high, I'm figuring I will have to remain in Income Contingent forever (unless I suddenly become wealthy, which I doubt), so I doubt I'd ever pay off the debt before it expires (25 years in IC, I think, and I have 18 left).  So my question is, is there really any downside to enrolling in the more expensive program?  Seems like my payments would be the same either way due to how high the debt is.  But am I missing something?  I don't have any moral aversion to "being in debt" on principal (and I'm already in debt, so...), so is there any other negative that could come of taking on more student loans?

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
SCF
Valued Contributor

Re: Negatives to taking on more SL debt under Income Contingent??

This is kind of an interesting conundrum, potential downsides that I see:

- Your  payments could obviously go higher the more debt you take on, so if you do begin a lucrative career your payments would cap out a higher amount.

- Payments are based on your joint income and student loan debts if you file your taxes jointly - so the extra debt could influence financial decisions you make with your spouse about taxes and loan repayment, especially if they have low debt and a higher income than you.