Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New help getting a student loan.

tag
Chena83
Established Member

New help getting a student loan.

I am in my second year of school to beome an Occupational Therapist. I was just informed that I am close to the limt of taking out loans. From my understand I need to buggy down on trying to get more scholarships and personal loans. My Transunion gredit score is 645, and i think the other two were 635 and  630, the last time I check a month ago. I have 2 credit cards, one $648 with a limit of $700 andthe other balance id $499 with a limit of $500. We have a morgage that we have been paying on time each month. I have about $1800 in medical collection.

What do you sugget I do to make sure my credit is good enough to get a personal loan becaue I have 2 more year of school that I need to have funded? Which bank would you suggest I go with to get my student loans through?

Thanks for you help,

Chena'

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
laz98
Senior Contributor

Re: New help getting a student loan.

You need to pay off your credit cards ASAP, & keep the balances low.  Right now it looks like you're maxed out, & no one is going to want to lend you money if you are carrying balances like that.

Did you get your TU & EQ credit scores here?

Message 2 of 6
Chena83
Established Member

No I think I got them somewhere else. Is that the main thing that I need to do is pay off those credit cards?

Message 3 of 6
laz98
Senior Contributor

@Chena83 wrote:

No I think I got them somewhere else. Is that the main thing that I need to do is pay off those credit cards?

They may not be accurate scores then.  Your real scores may be higher OR lower.

The best thing you can do for your scores is pay off your cards, yes.  I can't say how much your score will increase, but it's the easiest thing to do to raise your scores.  Smiley Happy

Message 4 of 6
GST2008
Frequent Contributor