cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to student loans, a couple important questions.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to student loans, a couple important questions.

I just took out some student loans, both government backed loans.

The first and most important question is, how do I know if they are deferred while im in school? Is this automatic?

The second one is I got a letter from the student loan "people" saying my school plans to disburse the new loan amount as follows:

Direct Subsidized Loans:

Date: 10/06/2008 $1742
01/29/2009 $1742

Direct Unsubsidized Loans:

Date: 10/06/2008 $2985
01/29/2008 $2985

I have no clue what this means? Does this mean I get that money on those dates?

Because I know there was money left over that I would get in checks, I'm so confused.
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
BabyBlue
New Contributor

Re: New to student loans, a couple important questions.

I am new to student loans also, but I will try to answer your question. If I am wrong, I am sure someone with more knowledge will correct me.

Since the loans that you have are direct, you can set up an online account at Direct Loan Servicing's website https://www.dl.ed.gov/borrower/BorrowerWelcomePage.jsp. You should be able to see there a deferment status for each loan (until ...). It is my understanding that as long as you do not take a semester off, your school's financial aid office should report your "in-school" status to DLS. If you take a semester off, including a summer, then you need to fill out a form requesting a deferment.

As far as the disbursement of the loans is concerned, I would understand the letter that you got from your school's financial aid office as informing you of when you will receive the funds from them.

I am not sure if you have the same option; my financial aid office deposited the funds directly to my checking account but they have also mailed checks to those that did not want a direct deposit.
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous